Sprint Car Unit

This unit meets each second and fourth Tuesday at the shrine beginning at 6:30 p.m.
he El Riad Sprint Car Unit was formed in November 2002.The El Riad Sprint Car Unit was established on November 4, 2002 with the purpose of providing miniature Sprint Cars for the Shrine parades and other events.  Our goal as a Unit is to attract members who are interested in racing and related interests. The Unit has 12 custom built Sprint Cars built to 5/8 scale, two trailers and tow rigs and is ready for Parades and other various Shrine events.The Sprint Car Unit currently has 23 members. Each member selected their own colors, numbers and details to create a more realistic field of sprint cars. Each member is responsible for his own maintenance with spectator safety as the prime concern.  Over the first 15 years of parade performances and Shrine Field and Obstacle competitions, the Unit continues to add to their large collection of national and regional awards.  The Unit enjoys thrilling crowds with their noise and fast paced action and is usually the most popular entry of every town parade.  These “Big Boys and their Toys” always leave plenty of tire rubber on the streets as a reminder of their exciting performance.
During the summer the unit meets and practices at the lot behind the Lewis Distribution Center at 700 E. 54th St. N.  The unit has limited meetings during the winter months.  The initiation fee of $100 includes the first years dues of $50 and a unit polo.

The El Riad Sprint Car participates annually in the Midwest Motor Corp. Assoc.  The competition consists of 3 competitions in the 4-Wheel division.  The competitions are:Field Competition – This is a choreographed precision routine, 5-9 minutes in length, with various maneuvers.  Points are awarded based on skills completed and the performance of each skill.Obstacle Competition – This competition is completed on a closed-course, with winners based on fast average time for each unit’s fastest 2 drivers.Overall Competition – The unit that posts the highest overall score in the Field Competition, regardless of class or number of tires, is crowned the Overall Champion.In addition to bartending for various events at the Shrine throughout the year the unit sponsors The Abbey Road Band, a Beatles tribute band each November.

  • Imperial Champions: 2014, 2008 and 2003
  • Midwest Champions: 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2005, 2004 and 2003

Download a membership application.

Check out our photo gallery below.

2018 Officers

President: Chad DeVries (Shelby)
Phone: (605) 521-3496
Email: chaddevries@yahoo.com

Vice President:Darin McDonnel (Jodi)
Phone: (605) 521-6341
Email: dmcdonnel@siouxfalls.org

Secretary: Jason Schlechter (Teri)
Phone: (605)369-2636
Email: dutch_dime@hotmail.com

Treasurer: Mike Olawsky (Sheri)
Phone: (605) 400-9430
Email: mike.olawsky@gmail.com

Past President: Todd Long (Stacie)
Phone: (605) 553-2774
Email: longer68@gmail.com

Past Presidents

2002 Jeff Lacey (Deceased)
2003 Jeff Lacey (Deceased)
2004 Maury Richard
2005 Todd Schmidt
2006 Mike Olawsky
2007 Dave Duncan
2008 Mark Richard
2009 Ike McDonnell
2010 Paul Riley
2011 Doug Olson
2012 Dave Duncan
2013 Rod Newhagen
2014 Terry Berkness
2015 Mark Richard
2016 Tim Meirose

Murray Award

Awarded to a member of the unit (or Divan Liaison) who has the most memorable screwup during the year while operating the sprint cars.

2003  Wayne Murray
2004  Dane Christensen
2005  Donnie Miller
2007  Rich Howard (Deceased)
2007  Jeff Evans
2008  Rich Burns
2009  Jeff Evans
2012  Rod Newhagen
2013  Ike McDonnel
2015  Dave Murphy
2016  Dave Murphy

Hard-Charger Award

Awarded to a member of the unit (Executive Committee members are ineligible) who displays dedication to the unit through hard work and effort during the year.

2008  Rich Howard (Deceased)
2009  Bob Hoyt (Deceased)
2009  Jason Schlechter
2010  Rod Newhagen
2011  Cory TerWee
2012  Mike Olawsky
2013  Ike McDonnel
2014  Mike Costello (Deceased)
2015  Chad DeVries
2016  Darin McDonnel

Current Car Owners

Maury Richard/Mark Richard #31
Tim Meirose #6
Chad DeVries/Steve Tripp #69
Todd Long/Heath Lacey #13
Jason Schlechter/Rod Newhagen #1
Dan King/Paul Riley #3b
Dave Murphy/Donnie Miller #00
Mike Walz/Doug Olson #7
Ike McDonnel/Darin McDonnel #3
Mike Olawsky #16
Dave Duncan #14
Terry Berkness #1

The Sprint Car Unit has paraded in these cities

Cities in Bold Indicate Multiple Parades

Aberdeen, SD
Arlington, SD
Bloomington, MN
Brandon, SD
Canby, MN
Canistota, SD
Canton, SD
Dell Rapids, SD
Denver, CO
Duluth, MN
Edgerton, MN
Fargo, ND
Flandreau, SD
Garretson, SD
Grand Forks, ND
Granite Falls, MN
Hartford, SD

Hills, MN
Jasper, MN
LeMars, IA
Lennox, SD
Luverne, MN
Madison, SD
Madison, WI
Marquette, MI
Milford, IA
Minneapolis, MN
Minneota, MN
Mitchell, SD
Mountain Lake, MN
Pierre, SD
Pipestone, MN
Rapid City, SD
Rochester, MN

Rock Valley, IA
Sioux Center, IA
Sioux City, IA
Sioux Falls, SD
South Sioux City, NE
Springfield, MN
St. Louis, MO
Tea, SD
Tyler, MN
Valley Springs
Windom, MN
Winner, SD
Winona, MN
Worthing, SD
Worthington, MN
Yankton, SD

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This