Corn Palace Hillbillies

The Corn Palace Shrine Club was organized in 1956 with a membership of 44 Nobles. Today the club has 180 members with about 95 of those belonging to the Corn Palace Hillbilly Clan #161, the club parade unit.

The unit members ride in hillbilly vehicles and on uniquely decorated “Hillbilly Hogs”.

The Corn Palace Shrine Club meets at 6:00 p.m. on the last Thursday of each month at locations announced in advance in the club’s monthly newsletter. The club sponsors the Corn Palace Shrine Circus each spring, in late April, at the World’s Only Corn Palace in Mitchell, SD. The circus attracts the young and young at heart from miles and miles around and features three days of afternoon matinees, evening performances, and a special show for the elderly and disabled.

The Corn Palace Hillbillies have participated in numerous Imperial Sessions, attend the Midwest Shrine Association Summer Sessions on a regular basis, and maintain a full parade schedule throughout the summer, regularly appearing at more than a dozen community festivals in South Dakota, Minnesota and Nebraska.

2018 Officers

President: Rodney Clarambeau
Vice President: TBD
Treasurer: Matt Buenzow (Angela)
Secretary: Jim Taylor (Margo)
Raban of the Clan: Shorty Hofer (Deb) and  Stuart Barns (Cindy)
Keeper of the Cob:
Keeper of the Still:  Nowell “Shorty” Hofer (Deb)

Member At Large:  Dave Schmig

Member At Large:  Troy Magnuson

Circus Chairman 2016 and 2017: Shorty Hofer
Past President:  Brandon Manchester
Sportsman’s Classic Chairman: Greg Bailey

Officer’s Nominating Committee:
Shorty Hofer, Greg Bailey, and  Stuart Barns

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This